Image competition

Prizes sponsored by MSMSE. 

First Prize

Shark Teeth Fracture
Joshua Yeh, Northwestern University, USA

Shark teeth fracture pattern of a ~3 micron thick film formed by desiccation of silicone nanoparticles on a glass slide. Image was taken with a Nikon MA200 inverted microscope.


Second Prize

Migration of defects to grain boundaries
Thomas Jourdan, CEA Saclay, France

Flux of self-interstitials and self-interstitial concentration near a symmetric tilt grain boundary in copper, calculated by object kinetic Monte Carlo simulations. Stress fields due to the grain boundary are evaluated by anisotropic elasticity calculations.

Third Prize

Shaking hands
Markus Sudmanns, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany

Dislocation density evolves in a composite structure. The blue and the red colored areas denote the edge parts of geometrically necessary dislocation density of opposite orientation. Due to the heterogeneity of the structure a strongly interleaved pattern evolves.


Key dates

  • Abstract submission deadline (oral):
    February 15th, 2016
  • Abstract acceptance notification:
    April 1st, 2016
  • Abstract submission deadline (poster):
    May 31st, 2016
  • Application deadline for student and post-doc grants:
    July, 18th 2016
  • Early registration deadline:
    September 5th, 2016
  • Image competition deadline
    September 15th, 2016
  • Registration deadline:
    October 7th, 2016

Powered by Eventsforce